Product Comparison · Online Degrees
Best College for Military Credit Transfer in 2026: TESU vs UMGC vs AMU
Thomas Edison State University pairs ACE and JST credit with a two-course residency rule and a $250 military rate; UMGC and AMU match the rate but publish 90-credit transfer ceilings, and AMU adds a separate veteran price.
What is the best college for military credit transfer in 2026?
On published terms, Thomas Edison State University (TESU) is the strongest pick for military credit transfer: it grants credit on ACE recommendations, requests your Joint Services Transcript itself, accepts Community College of the Air Force transcripts, and its transfer page says students arriving with four-year college credit need only two TESU courses. UMGC and AMU match TESU's $250-per-credit rate for serving members but publish 90-credit transfer ceilings for a bachelor's degree.
This comparison is built from each school's own military, tuition and transfer-credit pages and the American Council on Education's student pages, rather than first-hand use.
One caution for veterans before the details: TESU's and UMGC's $250 rates are written for serving members and their families, while AMU publishes a separate veteran price of $324 per credit hour.
How military training becomes college credit
The American Council on Education (ACE) evaluates military courses and occupations and publishes credit recommendations. Its student page says "through ACE Learning Evaluations, learners can receive college credit recommendations," and invites service members to "upload a copy of your Joint Services Transcript (JST) to see the credit you've already obtained." The ACE Military Guide covers "occupations and formal courses offered by the Army, Marine Corps, Navy, and Coast Guard." Air Force training reaches colleges through a different transcript: TESU, for example, tells Air Force members to "submit an official transcript from the Community College of the Air Force (CCAF) to receive credit."
The catch is that a recommendation is not a guarantee. ACE notes that "each college or university has established transfer credit policies," and TESU reserves "the right to determine the appropriate equivalency and application to a degree program." The same JST can therefore count for more at one school than another, which is why the four checks below decide the answer.
The four checks that decide it
- ACE and JST acceptance: does the school grant credit on ACE recommendations and read the JST, plus the CCAF transcript for Air Force members?
- Transfer cap: how many outside credits can count toward a bachelor's degree?
- Residency: how much of the degree must be taken at the school itself?
- Military rate: what does a credit cost a serving member, and who qualifies?
| Check | TESU | UMGC | AMU |
|---|---|---|---|
| ACE and JST | Grants credit on ACE evaluations; requests your JST after admission; takes CCAF transcripts | Reviews military transcripts on ACE recommendations | Lists the ACE Military Guide as an accepted source; counts military credit as traditional transfer credit |
| Transfer cap (bachelor's) | Up to 90 credits from community colleges; four-year credit can cover all but two required courses | Up to 70 credits from two-year schools, up to 90 from four-year schools | 90 credits; non-traditional credit limited to 60 of a 120-credit degree |
| Residency | Two required TESU courses for four-year transfer students | Not stated on the pages checked | Set under Higher Learning Commission rules; no figure on the page |
| Military undergraduate rate | $250 per credit (nursing excluded) | $250 per credit, Summer 2026 through Spring 2027 | $250 per credit hour |
| Who gets that rate | Active duty, Guard, Reserve, spouses, dependents, DoD civilian employees | Servicemembers, spouses, dependent children | Active duty, Guard, Reserve and military families; veterans pay $324 with the Veteran Grant |
Every figure in the table comes from the school's own page (checked October 2026).
TESU: the shortest residency on paper
TESU's military-training page says the university "will grant credit for those military service schools that have been evaluated by" ACE, "as well as select military schools that have undergone institutional reviews in order to award additional credits not recommended by ACE." After you are admitted, "the University will request Joint Services Transcript (JST) on your behalf." The transfer page adds that TESU "generally accepts the credit recommendations of ACE" and of NCCRS, the National College Credit Recommendation Service.
The residency rule is what sets TESU apart. Students coming from an institutionally accredited four-year school "may fulfill all your degree requirements with transfer credit except the two required courses from TESU": SOS-1100, "Fact, Fiction, or Fake? Information Literacy Today", and a capstone course. Credit from community colleges is capped separately, at "up to 90 credits."
On cost, TESU offers "Active Duty, Air/Army National Guard and Reserve Servicemembers, their spouses and dependents and Department of Defense Civil Service employees a discounted tuition rate of $250 per credit for every undergraduate program (except TESU's nursing programs)." Veterans are not named in that list. New undergraduate terms "start every month."
Three process notes from TESU's pages are worth knowing before you apply:
- Transfer evaluations "are conducted only for active applicants," and "a maximum of 2 evaluations will be completed," so send every transcript before the review.
- JST records "can go back as far as 1976 but data older than 1994 may be missing or incomplete," and TESU recommends reviewing the JST "for accuracy prior to submission."
- If you use Tuition Assistance, you "must receive approval from an Education Services Officer (ESO) or counselor within your respective service, prior to enrolling in courses."
UMGC: ACE-based review and a fee waiver
UMGC, which calls itself "a state university," says it "will review your military transcripts for experience to determine transfer credit based on recommendations from the American Council on Education," and asks service members and veterans to "request your military transcripts after applying." For college coursework, it applies "up to 70 credits from two-year schools and community colleges and up to 90 credits from four-year colleges and universities" to a bachelor's degree, provided the grades and degree-plan conditions are met.
Two UMGC extras matter for a military transcript. Under the heading "Earn Credit for Your Military Rank," it advertises a route "to earn up to 12 credits for your valuable learning, training, and experiences in the military," and it allows "up to 21 elective credits for vocational and technical training" evaluated by ACE. Ask UMGC which programs and ranks qualify for the rank credit before counting on it.
On price, UMGC's tuition table lists $250 per credit for standard undergraduate programs at the military rate from Summer 2026 through Spring 2027, against $337 per credit in-state and $499 out-of-state for Fall 2026. UMGC describes the reduced rate as being for "military servicemembers, their spouses, and dependent children." Its $15-per-credit technology fee does not apply to "undergraduate military students." The residency minimum is not stated on the UMGC pages checked here, so ask admissions how many credits must be UMGC coursework. For an IT-focused look at UMGC's transfer rules, see our SNHU vs UMGC comparison for IT degrees.
AMU: a published veteran price
American Military University lists the ACE Military Guide among acceptable credit sources and defines military credit, "earned through a military school or sponsored program," as traditional transfer credit. Its limits, which it says follow Higher Learning Commission rules, are "45 credits toward an associate degree" and "90 credits toward a bachelor's degree." A separate cap applies to non-traditional credit earned through assessment, testing or experience: "60 credits toward a 120-credit bachelor's degree."
AMU's Preferred Military Rate is $250 per credit for undergraduate and master's-level courses. It covers active-duty servicemembers, Guard members, Reservists and military families, including parents, spouses, legal partners, siblings and dependents. Veterans are priced separately: the tuition table shows "$324/credit hour with Veteran Grant," and AMU says all veterans and their family members qualify for "a 10% Veteran Grant on standard undergraduate tuition." It also lists the technology fee per undergraduate course as $0.
Which school fits which service member
- Bringing four-year college credit plus military training: TESU, because its residency rule is two courses.
- Bringing ACE-evaluated vocational or technical training: UMGC, which says it may award up to 21 elective credits for that kind of training.
- A veteran who is no longer serving: AMU, which publishes a veteran price of $324 per credit hour with its Veteran Grant; the TESU and UMGC rate lists above do not name veterans.
- Air Force with a CCAF transcript: TESU names CCAF transcripts explicitly; ask the other two how they apply CCAF credit before you enroll.
How to compare schools before you enroll
- View your JST first. ACE lets you upload it to see the credit already recommended; fix errors before any school reviews it.
- Get official evaluations. A school's written evaluation of your transcripts is the only number that counts.
- Line up the four checks above for each school, in writing.
- Clear Tuition Assistance with your education office before registering.
Southern New Hampshire University is not scored here because its pages could not be verified for this update. If it is on your list, run the same four checks on its site: Check current tuition at SNHU for its bachelor's programs, or check SNHU's associate tuition if you are starting with fewer credits.
If you are a military spouse rather than a service member, our guide to the best online colleges for military spouses using transfer credits is the better starting point. If you already hold a large block of college credit, compare our bachelor's options for adults with 60 transfer credits, or see our full shortlist.
This comparison describes published school policies and is not personal education, financial or benefits advice.
FAQ
Does a Joint Services Transcript guarantee college credit?
No. The JST carries ACE's credit recommendations, but each college applies its own transfer policy, and TESU, for one, reserves the right to decide how credit applies to a degree. Ask for an official evaluation before you enroll.
Which college accepts the most military credit?
None of the three prints a separate cap for military credit on the pages checked. AMU counts military credit as traditional transfer credit under its 90-credit bachelor's limit. TESU's general rules are the most generous, with a residency requirement of two courses for students who also bring four-year college credit.
Do veterans get the $250 military tuition rate?
Not everywhere. TESU's $250 rate names active duty, Guard, Reserve, spouses, dependents and DoD civilian employees, and UMGC describes its reduced rate for servicemembers, spouses and dependent children. AMU publishes a separate veteran price of $324 per credit hour with its Veteran Grant.
How do Air Force members get credit for their training?
Through the Community College of the Air Force transcript. TESU asks Air Force members for an official CCAF transcript, while the ACE Military Guide search covers the Army, Marine Corps, Navy and Coast Guard.
What do these schools say about Tuition Assistance and fees?
TESU says students using Tuition Assistance must get approval from their Education Services Officer or counselor before enrolling. On fees, UMGC waives its technology fee for undergraduate military students, and AMU lists no technology fee per undergraduate course.
Sources
- College Credit for Students and Learners — American Council on Education (ACE) (checked October 2026)
- Military & Veteran Resources — Thomas Edison State University (checked October 2026)
- Earning Credit for Military Training and Education — Thomas Edison State University (checked October 2026)
- Transfer Credits to TESU — Thomas Edison State University (checked October 2026)
- Tuition & Fees — University of Maryland Global Campus (checked October 2026)
- Transfer Credit Options for Military & Veterans — University of Maryland Global Campus (checked October 2026)
- Understanding Transfer Credit — American Military University (American Public University System) (checked October 2026)
- Tuition and Fees — American Military University (American Public University System) (checked October 2026)
No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.
Affiliate Disclosure


